Tags

, , , , , ,

Day Summary 

It could have been a bad day
It could have been a good one,
For I oscillated between moods
Phone calls
Emails
Birthday wishes
And then an hour of
Aimless shuffling on itunes.

It could have been a bad day
It could have been a good one…
With a flat tyre
A cancelled trek
Two well-brewed coffee mugs
And a handful of
Bad printouts

It could have been a bad day
It could have been a good one,
With a Sri Lankan souvenir lost
A good friend gone abroad
Restlessness unbound
And three well-planned attacks
On my self-esteem.

It could have been a bad day
It could have been a good one…
With the restlessness transforming
Into wanderlust
And then to a trapped feeling
Of not being able to get out;
then again, wanting to, at least, roam in
the city I try to love

And then,
After a day’s work
As I held the key to my home
The dull light bulb from above
cast a city’s silhouette on the welcome mat-
the contour of my key.

© vaidehi patil

